Uncategorized

Sans Technology

I’m at work right now and I forgot my cell phone at home…

This is a brand new experience for me. I mean I’ve left my phone in my dorm before, but even then I had access to the internet on my iPad or my MacBook. And I could go back to my dorm if I had free time so that my phone and I could be reunited.

This is so real.

I used to think that I was able to go through life without my cell phone, but since I left the house at 7:30 (it’s about 8:30 now) I’ve been going though a sort of withdrawal. Not really though since I’m still able to type on my computer and complete basic, non-internet tasks. I’ve already drafted three emails that I was supposed to send yesterday but never got around to.

This reminds me that once upon a time I wanted to go for a day without any technology (excluding modern amenities like electricity, plumbing, H-VAC, etc.) to “reset my inner clock.”

Now that I’ve gone an hour without technology, it sounds super stupid.

Who the heck thought it would be a good idea to willingly put down the one thing that I use every single day???

I guess the operative word in that question was willingly. My issue must be with the fact that I was not prepared for this lack of internet access.

Maybe this will be good for me, maybe I’ll find better ways to keep myself occupied. And by better I mean something more intellectual than sitting around scrolling through social networks and playing Angry Birds.

Maybe I’ll learn something about myself.

Be well, do good work.

Leave a Reply

