cooking

Chilli con (or sans) Carne

Hi everybody!

A couple weeks ago, one of my good friends turned 20 and I wanted to give him a gift, but I couldn’t think of anything other than cooking his favorite dish: Chilli con Carne. Unfortunately, meat is

A couple weeks ago, one of my good friends turned 20 and I wanted to give him a gift, but I couldn’t think of anything other than cooking his favorite dish: Chilli con Carne. Unfortunately, meat is

A couple weeks ago, one of my good friends turned 20 and I wanted to give him a gift, but I couldn’t think of anything other than cooking his favorite dish: Chilli con Carne. Unfortunately, meat is waaaay to expensive for my budget (poor college student here) and so I made Chilli sans Carne, if you will. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 large (or 2 small) bell pepper, chopped
  • [optional: 500g skinless, boneless chicken thigh, diced]
  • 1 400 gram (14.5 ounces) can of chopped tomatoes
  • 1 400 gram (14.5 ounces) can of (kidney) beans – I used kidney beans, but I would highly suggest using whatever kind of bean you prefer as long as they aren’t already cooked
  • 3 cloves garlic, grated
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 2 teaspoons smoked paprika (or non-smoked, whichever is available)
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili flakes (more if you want it spicier)
  • 1/8 teaspoon (a dash) of salt (more to taste)

Hardware

  • 1 large, deep (sauce) pan
  • at least 1 cutting board
  • grater
  • at least 1 knife and 1 large spoon

Directions

  1. Heat oil (high heat) in pan and add onions. Fry onions in oil until softened. Either keep cooking for 2-3 minutes or add chicken and cook for 2-3 minutes. Regardless of what you do, constantly stir.
  2. Turn heat down (gentle heat) and add garlic, cumin, paprika, and chili flakes. Stir until the spices are evenly distributed.
  3. Add bell pepper, tomatoes, and beans (pour in the liquid in the tomato and bean cans, too). Stir everything together and bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer.
  4. Let simmer for 15-20 minutes to allow the meat to cook and soup to thicken. Stir occasionally.
  5. Serve with rice or Tex-Mex fixings (tortillas, sour cream, cheese, etc.)

I ended up cooking some white rice and using that as the base for the sauce.

There are a couple things in this recipe that I left out or would change slightly (and probably will the next time I make this). First, I couldn’t find cumin so I left that out. Second, I would definitely add more than 1/2 tsp chili flakes. I think that 1 tsp would be perfect; the chilli would be spicy, but not too spicy. I’m excited to try this

I’m excited to try this recipe again and actually make it “con carne.”

Let me know if you cook this and what you think.

I didn’t take a photo when I finished, but I promise it looked good. I’ll be sure to take one next time!

Leave a Reply

