cooking

Soup Doop-a-Doop: Lentil Soup

Hi Friends! I cooked something else!

Last week, I cooked a hearty lentil soup for a couple friends. It turned out very, very well and I’m excited to share the recipe. I would mention that this recipe (with these portions) would serve about 4 people so I would suggest doubling it for a family larger than that. Then, you can save the rest for later. This soup is also great because you can just add a little water, put it back on the stove and have it be just as delicious as the first time.

Ingredients

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 large (or two small) carrot, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped – I couldn’t find celery so I just left it out
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 large bay leaf (or however many small leaves)
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 400-gram (14.5-ounce) can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 cups dry lentils
  • 8 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

Hardware

  • 1 large soup pot
  • at least 1 cutting board
  • grater
  • peeler

Directions

  1. In soup pot, heat olive oil. Add onions, carrots, and celery. Cook and stir until onion is tender.
  2. Stir in garlic, bay leaf, oregano, and basil. Cook for 2 minutes while stirring regularly.
  3. Stir in lentils, water, and tomatoes (including water in can). Bring to a boil.
  4. Reduce heat and simmer for at least 1 hour. When you achieve your preferred consistency, turn off the heat.
  5. Stir in vinegar and salt and pepper.
  6. Serve with bread and enjoy!

As I said before, this recipe turned out very well and I’m very proud of it. As I mentioned in the recipe, I couldn’t find celery so I left it out. Personally, I don’t think that celery adds any flavor, so I had no problem leaving it out. I think that the celery would only add crunch and I think that if you add a little more carrot, you’ll get more crunch, but you’ll also get more carrot taste.

This ended up being pretty much exactly 4 servings and I haven’t tried to double it yet, but I am very confident that it would be doubled very easily. I’m hoping to make it for my family sometime in the coming months and at that point, I’ll probably triple or even quadruple it, we’ll see. I’ll let you know what I decide and how it goes.

Let me know if you end up making this and how it turned out for you.

Also, I forgot to take a photo so I’ll be sure to take a few next time I cook this recipe!

1 thought on “Soup Doop-a-Doop: Lentil Soup”

Leave a Reply

